Skip to content

I left with 3 and came home with 5

June 9, 2010

So I recently did a wedding in Hawaii. Turns out, the wedding was great, the weather held up and everything went as planned. After it was over, we decided to spend a few days snooping around the island and visiting friends.

Hawaii is a very unique place in my experience, so any time I get a chance to explore or spend time I do. Staying with a friend we hadn’t seen in some time, it was great to wake up and feel the damp air, see the fruit trees growing outside the window and hear the falling of dense rain. The friend we were staying with is a photographer, big surprise, a really good photographer, and someone who has transitioned away from film, into digital, and now into motion. He is a wicked smart guy and has been at it for a long while. Stay tuned, an interview with him is on the way to this blog.
Anyway, my wife mentioned that I was going to drive to the lab the morning we returned to LA and our friend said, “No way, you are still shooting film, that is great.”

About an hour later, in the middle of a conversation, our friend says, “Oh hey, I’ve got something for you,” and out comes what you see in this photograph. Two Voigtlander cameras, two lenses, two finders and a custom underwater housing. Now it takes a lot to get me really excited. This got me really excited.

I don’t know the first thing about shooting underwater, but I love being underwater, so I’ll learn what I can. But what I’m excited about is the idea that these new cameras will allow me photographs I can’t make with my existing gear. I don’t have a 12mm. Let alone a rectilinear 12mm. I can mount this thing all over the place, including my bicycle. I’ve been dreaming of having something like this.

So as I packed up to fly home, my trusty Tenba bag, the Ultralight, was no longer as light as it was when I left. Inside were five cameras instead of three, and for this I am truly grateful to my friend.

I’ll try to use these things and make something worthy.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2010 1:09 am

    THAT is awesome ! That’s some cool shit to give away. This guy knew you could really do some good stuff with it. FUN !

    • June 9, 2010 1:19 am

      Yes, I was so surprised, and thrilled and my inner gear freak was dancing.

  2. Eric Labastida permalink
    June 9, 2010 1:38 am

    Here’s what you do Dan,
    A. pick up Viotlander
    B. Put Viotlander in appropriately sized box.
    C. Take Box ( with Voitlander inside) to local post office.
    D. Mail Box ( with Voitlander inside) to Las Vegas

    You know the address.

    • June 9, 2010 1:40 am

      YOU WILL HAVE NOTHING AND LIKE IT

      • Eric Labastida permalink
        June 9, 2010 1:46 am

        Oh yeah, Those NOTHING cameras are really AWESOME!

        Thanks, buddy!!!

      • June 9, 2010 1:49 am

        I press the shutter, I make magic. They call me The Magic Man.

  3. June 9, 2010 1:43 am

    Sweet! I just started doing underwater work last summer. It’s a completely different world and experience. I’m shooting digital, but it’s become one of my new interests. It’s quite addicting so watch yourself!

    • June 9, 2010 1:48 am

      I actually shot this camera once, underwater, in Hawaii, when he loaned it to me. I realized it when he brought it out. I shot in a shark cage, and actually ended up using one of the images on my packaging materials. It works!

      • June 9, 2010 3:14 am

        Sharks and underwater. Now you are talking!

      • June 10, 2010 12:30 am

        I managed about seven frames. I’m no hero and would never make it on Wild Kingdom.

  4. June 9, 2010 4:05 am

    What an awesome score!

    That 12mm is a blast, impressively sharp on the edges for such a wide lens. And stopped down you really don’t even need to focus…lots of fun!

    Damnit, what am I saying… I’m with Eric….

    Those cameras and lenses are horrible. But have no fear, I would be more than happy to recycle them for you in an appropriate fashion. I’ll consider it my civic duty. Just send them on to NC and I’ll make sure they are “dealt with”. hahahaha

    • June 10, 2010 12:30 am

      Gotta test this thing out. I know what I want to do, now to find the time.

  5. June 13, 2010 7:15 am

    You need to call me when you get in the water with that thing. I wanna be there. I’ll start doing my surf dance and I’ve got just the spot to take you. And I promise not to put you, or that beautiful housing, in any danger. Not that I’d try to swim away with that thing or anything… 😉

    • June 14, 2010 4:49 pm

      I’m starting in the kid pool at the country club. I will dominate.

  6. Carl permalink
    June 14, 2010 3:13 pm

    So I guess the fish tank filter in photoshop is going to be useless now.

    • June 14, 2010 4:55 pm

      Hey, never know. Any filter is valuable. It’s what makes you a photographer.

  7. June 27, 2010 9:01 pm

    Hi Daniel,

    got hooked on your tales and your vision through Inside Analog Photo Radio with Scott.

    Lovely story on the Voights.

    Do you know what I loved about playing music on a LP?
    It stops for B. You get some silence space to rethink what you just heard.
    You go for B and it stops again.
    Second time to get you “into” the music.

    Do you know what I love playing music through a CD?
    It stops. But only half of the above.

    Do you know what I sometimes hate about playing music on the iPod or Notebook?
    It doesn’t stop anymore. It doesn’t leave you the absolute lovely silent space.

    Sounds familiar?

    Enjoy your Voights. I love your work. Keep spreading the A message. You’re very good at it.

    Regards,
    Reiner.
    (Belgium)

    • June 29, 2010 6:09 pm

      Reiner,
      Thanks for those kind words. I love putting this stuff out, find it more entertaining than most things in my photo-life. New site on the way, nothing fancy, but easier to get the conversation going.

Leave a comment