Skip to content

Personally I’m Glad It’s Gone

September 23, 2009

MP_Pentax_Roids
Ignore these images, they suck.

A few months ago, when Polaroid died a horrible death for perhaps the last time, I read an article about the demise of this legendary photographic entity.

I normally wouldn’t read an article like this, probably because I find these topics depressing and subjects that have been covered to death. Our news cycle is like a binge eater at the Sizzler buffet, voracious and nearly unstoppable.

But in this case, I’m glad I did read this thing. What got me wasn’t the demise of Polaroid, which is a bummer, but what got me was some “digitally inclined” chap they interviewed about the demise of Polaroid.

In short, this person, more or less said, “Good, I’m glad it’s dead, people should be using digital anyway.”

I just wanted to say how much I agreed with this messenger of all things digital. I mean how could anyone like Polaroid? Or what we are left with Fujiroid?

An instant picture? Bad. Clearly.

Unless it’s a digital instant picture, then I can see that being just fine.

And getting a tiny print that looks incredible, I detest that too.

The only tiny, instant prints I like require me to download, sit at a computer, buy ink and paper, and run through countless drop down menus. I LOVE doing this. So much fun, and after twenty five years of the world’s most expensive R&D, CLEARLY better than that lousy Polaroid crap.

I’m also glad I never have to look at those sensational journal books what were made from these small prints, you know the ones in glass cases at the gallery shows. All those famous photographers, who for decades kept log books of all their shoots, findings, snapshots, castings, etc, I’m SO glad all that is gone. I mean who wants to look at that stuff? Who wants a history of what we’ve done? The history I dream about is filled with racks of hard drives and links to “online galleries” which we all know by now are the ONLY way to look at work, especially on small monitors with slow connections, that way we can take our time.

My final point is that although I’m truly gleeful that the “Evil Roid” is now gone, I’m sure glad someone scanned those infamous Polaroid borders, because it sure has saved me a lot of post-processing time when I’m faking my digital images to LOOK like the dreaded Polaroid. So glad we don’t have to deal with this stuff anymore. Enough already.

I’m sure glad these “digitally inclined” are watching out for our best interests and are pioneering the way in copying the old school ways with all things new. I think we are all better for it and our robust and vibrant industry is proof of their genius.

Now, as soon as I upgrade about forty pieces of electronic equipment in my office I can get back out there and start shooting.

Wish me luck!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2009 5:01 pm

    YES! great post. 🙂

  2. Cornelies Trarian permalink
    September 23, 2009 8:27 pm

    while you’re at it, get rid of the Pentax too….

    • September 23, 2009 8:46 pm

      Con, nice to see you checking in. It’s been a while, but always nice to see a family member.

  3. Robb permalink
    September 23, 2009 10:30 pm

    Love this. Nothing gets more looks than when I pull out my land camera on a film set. Nothing, shy of the pictures that come from it. It amazes me how many people have never seen a peel-apart polaroid. I really need to make a new book of my polaroids. Have to use Blurb this time around.

    • September 23, 2009 11:32 pm

      I agree. I used to shoot 665 at weddings, from time to time, complete with clearing bucket. Guests would gather and cheer as I would snap off these frames and pull them apart. People loved it.

  4. September 24, 2009 3:52 pm

    I gave my grandson his first camera, a polaroid when he was 3yrs old. Some older folke tried to take it away from him at a party because they thought he had picked it up by mistake. I intervened and informed them that it was his camera. He was showing it to a couple other little kids. He took the entire roll of film as he always did. He is 10 yrs old now and still taking pictures with other cameras. They are getting better and better. How else can you see into the mind of a 3yr old? We like polaroids.

    • Daryl permalink
      October 8, 2009 6:45 am

      Great idea, Cara! Amy did the same about a month ago when she saw Asher. Unfortunately, it is flies in the face of this story: yes, it is digital. At least he still carries it around and seems to be inspired. Only time will tell if his images improve. Now that he’s 4, we’re going to send him to a photo editing workshop in Santa Fe over the holidays.

      • October 8, 2009 4:59 pm

        It’s already cold out there, really cold.

  5. September 26, 2009 10:03 am

    “Now, as soon as I upgrade about forty pieces of electronic equipment in my office”

    I would rather have my eyes eaten by a crow first !!

  6. October 3, 2009 3:03 am

    Ahhh, Daniel, me boy, I do love the rants.
    The tongue is so far from the cheek, it’s fantastic!
    Cheers, my friend.
    damon

    • October 3, 2009 3:10 am

      Thanks amigo. I gave your name out the other day, someone asking for “major” blogs. Major what, I dont’ know but it has to be good.

  7. October 3, 2009 3:11 am

    OH my awesome! That was quite the amusing post, as I just ordered another land camera to add to my ever growing collection. love this “…filled with racks of hard drives and links to “online galleries” which we all know by now are the ONLY way to look at work”. Glad I read this, thanks for the laugh and inspiration 😉 big bird out.

    • October 3, 2009 3:13 am

      Thanks for readin! That post is about a week old, but I figured it might stir the pot a little, a pot that desperately needs to be stirred in my mind.

  8. October 3, 2009 6:23 am

    Consider the pot stirred!
    XoXOXO

  9. Wizler permalink
    October 4, 2009 11:17 pm

    great post….prints on paper, shah, who needs those? I am sure the digital sharing companies will preserve our images.

    Anyway I usually under saturate my images and use http://www.poladroid.net/

    but wait prints not dead yet, some crazzzy Dutchies are trying to bring it back to life.

    http://www.the-impossible-project.com/

    PS my lens is bigger than yours

    • October 5, 2009 5:16 am

      Thanks Wiz,

      An odd world we live in. Luckily, I like it that way.

  10. October 22, 2009 12:45 am

    A model in Australia brought her last Polaroids to me so I would shoot them of her. It almost made me cry… but the pictures were so kick ass that I couldn’t.

Leave a comment