Skip to content

A Book on Books

December 10, 2009

I wanted to show off something very interesting. A book on books. Now this idea of a book on books is not new, but every time I see one it really fuels my fire. This book was recently produced by Blurb, and features the likes of Darius Himes, Brigitte Carnochan, Mat Thorne, Chad Jennings and oddly enough…me.


I have several copies of this book and I can’t stop looking at it. It’s not like I’m looking in the mirror all day and telling myself how great I am, although when I do have a slow day that is precisely what I do. I can’t stop staring at the book because it makes me want to make more books.


The idea of a book about books always gets my attention, and those that have already been published are legendary in the photography and publishing worlds. If you don’t know the books I refer to, put down your Sabertooth Tiger Action Set you were about to purchase and RUN to your favorite book peddler and ask them about books on books. Or call Martin Parr if you want a hint.


This book, the Blurb creation, is fun and also digestible. It’s short and to the point, and has smooth layouts to show you just what they are trying to say. I love books that highlight spreads, covers and designs. Could look at these pages all day long. And for those of you who are casual about design, brace yourself. Book design ain’t casual, never has been, never will be. There is a LOT to learn. Ever hang out with a book designer? If no, you should seek one out, take them to lunch, get them to live in a plastic bubble and study them with great care. These folks are scary good when it comes to design, specific to books. I think this is one of the most misunderstood realities, just what goes in to making a signature book.


In the past two years I’ve looked at a lot of photo books. I’ve seen plenty of books with intense, smart design and photos that just couldn’t match the layout. And I’ve seen a lot of great photographs paired with sub par design. RARELY do you find both. So, go online, check it out and see for yourself. I think this book just might get you headed the right direction. No time to waste. Go. I’m watching you.


LINK TO HOW TO MAKE A GORGEOUS PHOTOBOOK

3 Comments leave one →
  1. David Wissinger permalink
    December 11, 2009 3:11 am

    I’ve been intrigued by your posts on Blurb books. I may look into buying this one. I suppose I should have more than a half dozen decent images before I consider making one of my own?

    • December 11, 2009 3:59 am

      Well, you can make a great small book, doesn’t have to have tons of images. That plane book is about 20 pages, and probably no more than 10 or 12 images. The project has many more, but you don’t need them all. I’ve made about 90 books with Blurb so far.

  2. December 12, 2009 4:43 pm

    Is this what my book will look like? Hope so. Moms’ book, wow.
    When airplanes are attached to the sky, they look lonely. Looking for something they crave and never get enough. It should be fly the lonely skies. Even the sound of them is lonely as it disappears overhead. Its like they aren’t sure where they are going, like us.

Leave a Reply

