Skip to content

Poem from Mom: “Just Me”

November 9, 2009

“Just Me”

just me
I thought
I was never enough
the world told me
what I should be
I couldn’t do it
I was what I was
and still am
I envied others
who knew more
were prettier
and smarter
had lots of friends
and boyfriends
were homecoming queens
rode on parade floats
won awards for athletics
and stuff they made
and entered at the fair
I wanted to be
popular and get
chosen first
it took a life time
to see
how fortunate I was
just to be me

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2009 8:10 pm

    A truth I wish all would embrace. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

