Skip to content

New Addition to the Family

September 14, 2009

MP_Leica_2

So a few weeks ago I was out in the middle of nowhere, working on a project, and I dropped the base plate while reloading my M6.

Didn’t think much about it until I realized the base plate had fallen on the edge of a sharp, pointy rock and the edge of the plate had bent to an strange angle. I’m a little slow, so I STILL didn’t think much about it.

Then I realized the base plate no longer fit on the camera. Oops.

Here I was, all these miles out, with one camera and one lens.

I bent the plate back, with my car keys, got it to fit on the camera, but was then unsure as to whether or not there was any light leaking into the film area. And, I had at least two more days of shooting.

Who says film isn’t grand?

I lucked out, things were fine. No fogging.

But, I realized I needed a backup.

So, a few days ago, amid the throngs of humanity scratching to get a look at the M9 and the new Leica offerings, I bought an M4. A used, mint, chrome M4.

I always wanted an “old” Leica, and one made from brass, which is exactly what the M4 is. And I have to say, with 1.5 rolls of film so far, this camera is beautiful.

What is odd is just how different it feels from my M6. The M4 feels smoother and heavier, even though I don’t think the weight is much different. There is no meter, which I also really like.

There is nothing auto or electronic about it. It has already become my daily camera.

I did get a chance to see and handle the M9, which I believe is also made of brass. It feels great, like we all knew it would, and I’m sure it will be a major success for Leica.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. David Wissinger permalink
    September 14, 2009 10:32 pm

    Wow. That’s an unexpected turn. The M6 is the backup camera? The reason that’s a surprise to me is that I’ve never used an external meter. Could be fun though. I mean, if film is a throwback, in a good way, then an external light meter must be an even better throwback. Makes sense to me anyway.

  2. September 15, 2009 2:43 am

    Makes me want to add an m7 to my m6ttl…having two of these cameras would be just about the perfect way to work..pg

    • September 15, 2009 5:09 pm

      It’s odd. A part of me doesn’t like having two because you have to think a little more, and you know me, thinking is a strain. With one you have no choices, you just shoot. However, having relayed the last story, I needed a spare, and the 50mm is a nasty lens.

Leave a Reply

