Skip to content

Los Perros…..AGAIN.

September 14, 2009

MP_Border_Collies_017

MP_Border_Collies_016

MP_Border_Collies_005

MP_Border_Collies_013

MP_Border_Collies_001

Like I said, nothing easier to shoot than a dog, except a smiling baby.

But, what can I say. I love dogs. Don’t own any, but might at some point in my life.

This was from a project on border collies, up in the wilds of Wyoming, my old, part-time, stomping ground.

What is better than a dog? A dog that works!

What’s interesting looking back on these is the weather looks pretty good, and as you can see, I had some good sun. But typical Wyoming, it went from sun to driving, freezing rain in about ten minutes. I was shooting Pentax 645 for the black and white and a Canon 1v with a 300mm for the color and remember trying to keep the 300mm dry, which ended up being no easy feat. It was pouring, but the dogs never missed a beat, probably liked it, and when you see these images larger, the frames are filled with frozen water droplets and flying hair.

Uploading all these things to Flickr reminds me of just how many different subjects I photograph. It really is one of the best things about being an oddball photographer. I don’t have to do too much of any one thing.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. David Wissinger permalink
    September 15, 2009 7:07 pm

    The interesting thing about this series of images is that you nailed Border Collies. Almost everything you need to know about these half-crazy (in a good way!) dogs is in these few images. For example, if you lived in a small apartment in the city and were thinking that a Border Collie would make a good pet, you could look at these images and say “…wait a minute”. Really great work!

    • September 15, 2009 7:39 pm

      Thank you. I would love to go back and shoot more, thought I would actually, but as with most things in the photo-life………hasn’t happened yet. I was riding my bike this morning, came across a guy with three HUGE BC’s, they saw me coming and you could just see they wanted nothing more than to follow me on the bike, tearing across anything in their path.

  2. September 16, 2009 7:40 am

    As a lover of dogs, this is very nice series. As David said, you captured the essence of the Border Collie in these images and the additional stuff you have up on flickr. Cool to see these.

  3. Missy Callero permalink
    September 16, 2009 10:08 am

    Love these pics. These dogs are gorgeous. But what I really wanted to say when I read this post is

    Oddball Photographer
    now THAT would be a good blog name for you.

    : )

    • September 16, 2009 5:08 pm

      Well, I guess you would know as well as anyone! I guess there are worse things.

  4. September 16, 2009 6:56 pm

    babies are harder to shoot than dogs and grown-ups. i promise.

  5. September 16, 2009 7:24 pm

    i probably just need a real job.

Leave a Reply

