Skip to content

Go See This Show

September 4, 2009

NapperCardHQ

ruin

sentinel

So I’m highly recommending this show. Trust me. Go.

Michael Napper photographs. Just look at these things and tell me you don’t want to see the rest.

I’ve known Michael now for a few years, and find him to be one of those guys that makes me shake my head, but in the best possible way. An accomplished, contemporary, fine-art painter, but someone who has also worked with photography for years and who recently, luckily for the rest of us, ramped up the photo-part of his life.

Already published in Black and White, something that can normally take YEARS, I think his work speaks for itself. If you know his paintings then you will see a vein of consistency that is no easy task to pull off. A definitive style that is immediately recognizable, what every artist strives for.

Michael is also a very hands on guy, experimenting with materials extensively, and creating these pieces from start to finish, by hand. There is nothing automated about what he does, and the idea of building a piece of photography becomes a reality in this work.

I find this work refreshing, distinctive, personal, and making me want more. If I knew any real art speak I would use it here. I don’t know any, and it would probably sound ridiculous coming from me, so just imagine I’m laying it on thick.

So, go to the show and see for yourself. You won’t be disappointed.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. tokyoteacher permalink
    September 5, 2009 12:48 am

    Hi
    Great pictures, man. (A WordPress ‘tagsearch’ lead me to them.) I wish I could see more and so I’m going to start looking.

    Thank you for the introduction.

    • September 5, 2009 1:18 am

      his work is fantastic, the paintings too. check him out on flickr as well, he’s got a fair amount of work up.

Leave a Reply

