Skip to content

How to Lure a Photographer

August 21, 2009

MP_Wildness_s2_044

Food.

Free food.

Any kind will do.

Or drinks, but food might even be better.

In this case I was lucky enough to stumble into some great people while working on a project, people who were in the middle of making a huge pot of stew over an open flame.

It was grand. I was like a moth to the flame. Aimless, adrift.

“Hey, give me your camera and I’ll shoot you,” said the person handing me the food. “I’ll bet you never have images of yourself.” True.

Handing someone a Leica is never easy. They stare at the back, looking for the image, then look through and realize the focusing ring does nothing. So, I prefocus and live with the result.

Not bad. My meter is in focus, so my guess wasn’t bad.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. sarah permalink
    August 26, 2009 6:57 am

    Looks like you crashed a Civil War Reenactment or something (those teepees/tents are giving it away). I heard you’re into that kind of thing. Am I close?

    • August 26, 2009 5:02 pm

      Yep, that was what it was. I missed the battle, never knew about it, but showed up later that afternoon. Nice folks. I did make a picture that is truly, at least to me, magical. I don’t know if it is a GOOD picture, but I saw the negative and it really stopped me. I printed it 8×10, then 16×20, but the enlarger head at that height wasn’t holding focus. So, the print is really soft, but lying in the developer, it just looked incredible. So odd. I don’t remember making the picture, and surely don’t remember the garbage I left in the bottom of the frame, but the light and look are memorable to me.
      Your so on it Swert.

  2. August 26, 2009 6:47 pm

    You are truely carrying on a family tradition, eating anything, any chance you get anywhere.

  3. August 26, 2009 6:49 pm

    Which teepee is yours chief?

  4. 6by6press permalink
    August 26, 2009 7:16 pm

    yummie yummie….

  5. sarah permalink
    August 28, 2009 8:59 am

    you make me want a darkroom again. there’s nothing like a print you’ve worked hard for lying wet in a tray just looking back at you in all its glory. especially one you don’t remember taking (with garbage at the bottom).

    p.s. you and I are the only ppl I know with steady blog comments coming from our mums. i feel bad for all those other bloggers with moms that don’t like them. 😉

    • August 28, 2009 6:13 pm

      I want a darkroom! It is so easy to bang out prints on the desktop, and they look fine. But, there is simply no comparison, at least for me, in making a wet darkroom print. I feel like I actually made something, and I love the idea of the unique print. With the desktop, print, print, print, etc, all the same, all somewhat lifeless.
      I’m not a good printer at all, but I’m learning. And there are dozens of things that can go wrong, at any given second, in the wet darkroom, but in some odd way…I enjoy this, and can laugh at myself when I do some idiotic thing, forget to stop the lens down, forget to focus enlarger, make a print after forgetting to put paper in the easel, have done them all, and probably will again.

      Our moms are rock solid. I’m gonna go see her comments on your site.

Leave a Reply

