Skip to content

The Last Roll

August 14, 2009

MP_bessant_004

MP_bessant_014

So I recently did a portrait, and like I normally do, I shot mostly square format, 6×6 pictures.

But right before I left, I shot a roll with the Leica. I know that the portrait world isn’t the first place the Leica would be top dog, but I tell you what, I like these images as much as any of the others.

It really got me thinking.

One of the boys, after I was done shooting with the Leica said, “I didn’t even know you were shooting.” I think this gets across the point.

What I like about working this way is that it allows me the opportunity to work like a documentary photographer and not a portrait photographer. I think images like these are hard to top with posed images, not matter how good the pose. This is probably my background coming through again.

These are crappy, save for web jpegs, like everything I post on this blog, but the big scans look incredible. So damn sharp and full of depth.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2009 4:44 pm

    Dan, I love the first shot! You caught him perfectly!

    • August 16, 2009 4:52 pm

      Thanks SS. Lucked out. I had the camera on a tripod, shooting every 8 seconds, on auto. I was in the other room watching TV.

Leave a Reply

