Skip to content

Poem from Mom: Wishes

August 13, 2009

“Wishes”

My memories of mom
I wish there were more
I wish the ones I have were better
I never thought about being like her
I never wondered if I was like her
I never wished for that
she was always there in real life
hanging the blankets over
the livingroom windows to make it dark
when we were recovering
from measles, mumps and whooping cough
mind you I said recovering from
she never said much to us about her life
she showed us about her life
unselfish and maybe happy
her wealth was her family
I want to be like her
I hope in many ways I am like her
how do I measure up to her
I don’t know
I can only say as I grow old
I wish I were like her

2 Comments leave one →
  1. rantingsofacrazypoet permalink
    August 13, 2009 5:32 pm

    This is very good, Daniel. It rings true for many!

  2. August 14, 2009 11:35 pm

    I remember mama.

Leave a Reply

