Skip to content

Le Machine

July 15, 2009

prints001

Someone gave me three boxes of Ilford paper, 250 sheets each, 8x5x11. It was old. Real old.

But, it worked. I made my 13 fogged contact sheets yesterday, and after doing so, I realized I had one of these Ilford boxes.

I said, “Ah, what the heck,” and made a test print, thinking it would be fogged worse than my contact sheets. It was perfect.

Contrasty as heck, but right on the money. What was so great, as I made print after print after print, was that I’m now beginning to really be able to read a negative.

I was popping in image after image and making ONE print each. These prints are for editing purposes, to be able to lay them out on the ground and see how the images should sequence. This project is WIDE, VAST and somewhat all over the place, so editing will be critical.

I was able to expose the images, drop the print in the developer, and then go back to the enlarger and swap out the image, all the while the print came up on its own.

The paper is resin coated, which would normally not be anything I would use, but in this case, I love it. I love dark, contrasty images, and this paper is just what the doctor ordered.

What is crazy is that I only had 13 rolls, but only go through about a third of the rolls. I’ve actually got a fair number of images that just might make a cut of some kind, somewhere long down the road.

The other interesting thing about RC paper is a five minute wash and machine dry. So I walked from the darkoom with all my contacts done, as well as a giant stack of prints to edit with. I do need to go back and finish the rest of the images, but it was a good start.

The real kicker here was the images, and the look of the images. Leica Tri-x and TMZ, just the way I used to work all those years ago. Nothing looks like this. They look so good. And there are certain times of the day, certain types of light, where these materials really shine, and I had a few of those times.

I can’t wait to take them to 16×20 fiber. This will be some time down the road, but it is nice knowing I’ve got something to look forward to.

Sorry for these horrendous images of the images, but the iphone camera is beyond bad.

prints003
prints005

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2009 6:15 pm

    nice new blog…works well..pg

  2. July 16, 2009 5:25 am

    Good to catch up yesterday and see the fruits of the labor. I like the new look of the blog. Looks good.

    • July 16, 2009 4:56 pm

      Thanks LH,

      Good to see you as well. I ended up making TONS of work prints. Still have about 2/3 of negs to go through however.

Leave a Reply

