Skip to content

My Peru Work

May 9, 2010

Okay folks, here it is. You asked for my Peru work, so I thought I would unveil it.

Actually, for some reason, I’m in no hurry to rush this stuff out. Someone asked me the other day, “What is the first thing you are going to do with the Peru work?” My response was, “Nothing.”

I think I’m in big trouble when it comes to my future because we all know we now live in the “real time” world. A lot of folks would have been blogging, Facebooking, Twittering the entire time they were in Peru, and by now would have showered the world with each and every frame.

Me, I looked at Peru as two plus weeks of ZERO computer, ZERO connected time and again, I’m in NO rush at all to shower the world with this work.

I have decided to begin making prints. “You are going to print HUGE right, I mean come Milnor this is 2010 don’t even think of printing less than 30×40.” Well, truth be told, I’m not even tempted. Not at this point.

My print size of choice? 4×6. Just bought the paper yesterday, and a small box to hold them. I know, I know, you can’t possibly showcase the work this way. Well, but I don’t feel the need. I can carry these prints with me, handle them, think about them, use them as my layout for when I eventually begin to make a book.

Speaking of the book. It will be 12×12. I have an cover idea. I have many ideas, but what I can pull off design wise will be the key. Any book designers out there want to collaborate? Probably not. Speaking of books, I’ve got at least a half dozen to make, three for clients, three for me. I’ve got so much work to do, and yet I find myself trying to avoid the computer as much as possible. It’s so nice outside. I have new tires on my bike, more later on that.

So for now, here’s Peru. A portion of the 6×6 anyway.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Eric Labastida permalink
    May 10, 2010 7:56 am

    Man, Remember that 5×7 box of prints I used to carry in my Domke? A lot of times that was my ice breaker to conversations which started out like “What the hell are you taking a picture of?”

    I walked with that box, had coffee with that box, cried, laughed and lived with that box. It was a wonderful way to keep myself on track and to see where I’ve been & where I was going.
    Can’t wait to meet these prints in person. Looks like you got some good ones there.
    I love that feeling of carrying your all manual cameras, hiking down a dirt road you’ve never been down, ever. That practice of quiet contemplation is such a nice thing to escape to. Frankly, I think it’s crucial to a persons sanity.

    Kudos on the new work, Dan

    • May 10, 2010 4:47 pm

      Eric,

      Yes I remember that box, and sit here now wondering what happened to it. I think this goes back to that story I wrote about a year or so ago, the urban legend about the successful commercial photographer that goes to Latin America and runs into the starving photographer who has a box of prints with him, a box of prints that represents his life’s work. I think there is HUGE need for things like this today when people are amassing hundreds of thousands of images, then blasting them out, rapid fire, across all seventeen channels of communication. I think in most cases, most of what I see is really not that well thought out, but if you blast it out enough…..well, something will stick.
      I think we can all reduce our photographic lives to ten or fifteen images, but forcing yourself to do that is where the laughs and tears come in. I too have a small box, which is now full, but I just bought a second one.

  2. May 14, 2010 11:16 pm

    Dan,

    Did you scan all that yourself?

    BTW…would you have found chromes easier to edit than 400NC?

    • May 15, 2010 7:02 pm

      Yep, I did all the Peru scans myself, both 6×6 and 35. Well chrome does scan well, but I want the look, speed and latitude of color negative. Not better just different.

  3. May 29, 2010 7:20 pm

    Your website is a breath of fresh air. I worked in a commercial photo lab for 2 years, got free film developing, printed all my own color pics in the darkroom and couldn’t have been happier (photographically speaking). I shoot on a 3 yr-old Canon DSLR and always miss the look of my analog images. Maybe I should consider trading quantity for preferred quality and get a box of my own.

    • May 29, 2010 9:11 pm

      I think you are in trouble Jessica….cause you know too much. Printing color?? You are the real deal. I still print analog black and white, but color is a true test. I remember my Jobo days, waiting for what felt like hours for those test strips. One are larger than the other from all the up and down. Try KEH, get a used film body, a few rolls of film and don’t look back. Nothing wrong with it, and I think your lab days, the good part, will come flooding back.

Trackbacks

  1. Endeavor to Change | Life Blog of Daryl Brewton

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

