Skip to content

Story Behind the Photos: Bush Sr. Blows the High Five

February 22, 2010

Digging through my archive is a lot of fun, and also reminds me of many experiences I’ve had over the past twenty years. Perhaps I’m feeling my own mortality? Nah. Just kidding.

Years ago, when I first decided photography was my deal, I ran into a friend of my dad’s. This guy was was from the Midwest, but felt more like Texas. Heavy accent. Heavy laugh. Former FBI agent. A GREAT guy. He always called me by my first AND middle name because we both shared same first AND middle names.

“Daniel XXXX,” he said. “I went to school with a guy who I think is a pretty big deal over at Time magazine.” “This buddy of mine lives in Washington, and I think he’s a top dog.” “I’m gonna call him for you.”

A few weeks later I was on a plane headed for Washington. Leica and Nikon FM2 in my carry on bag. The unknown waiting for me.

My dad’s friend was correct. His buddy was a big deal, had been for a long time, and more importantly, was one of the nicest people I have ever met in my photography career. It was instant access.

We hit the ground running.

“Drop your bags, we are on our way to The White House,” he said.

“You mean the place where the president lives?”
I said unsure if he was trying to freak me out. He wasn’t.

Over the following days we lived the lives of Washington DC photojournalists, during a time when this was a freakin great thing. I met tons of other photographers, all people I was in awe of, walking the streets in their tan jackets, Leicas around the neck, cigs dangling from lips.

We ambushed Ross Perot on the street, right after he announced his running for President. And NOBODY had these images! I banged and jostled with camera people and other snappers as we all pounced on the diminutive Perot(I also found this shot in my archive).

I felt like I’d landed in a movie about photojournalism and I was the unknown star.(Start crying now.)

We hit event after event, made the rounds into political offices, etc. I shook hand after hand, took copious notes and tried not to screw anything up. I think I even wore a shirt with a collar.

“I’ve got to go shoot the Navel Academy Graduation ceremony,” my new friend said. “And I got you a credential to stand on the bleachers in the back.”

Awesome. And then I realized my longest lens was around the 50mm length. “Don’t sweat it, I’ve got something for you,” my friend said as he produced a HUGE lens, Canon but with a NIKON mount.

Up early, stuck in traffic, battling for position and bingo things were set. He worked the entire area while I acted the part of sniper, using the long lens to pick off little moments here and there. I kept the wide angle around my neck, knowing the hat toss was coming.

Jets seared the sky.

Bush Sr. was doing the meet and greet handshake with each and every person graduating and I happened to snap the ONE TIME someone tried to high five him. As you can see, it didn’t work out.

And suddenly the hats were up.

We kept working the scene as the event ended. I was able to leave the bleachers and move around, long lens tucked under my arm, wide angle in my hand. I graduated from college but it was nothing like this.

For me, this time in Washington was decisive. This time was representative of a period I enjoyed, a time when the industry was still cloaked in a lifestyle I admired and strived to live.

I knew this was what I wanted to do with my life.

The industry has changed. My friend is still there. And photography is still what I want to do with my life.

This trip also inspired me to give back to younger photographers starting out. I can’t offer them Washington, but I can offer them my own version of it, and for this reason I try to teach three or four times a year. Being with my friend, for a four or five day intensive period was like getting on the photo-expressway and merging right into the fast lane, foot crushed to the floor. I learned so much, so fast it was remarkable, and came away with many images I still enjoy today.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. eric labastida permalink
    February 22, 2010 8:50 pm

    What year was this?

  2. Wizler permalink
    February 23, 2010 12:15 am

    nice shots, those last two are iconic and powerful, luv the B&W. you have a collared shirt?

    • February 23, 2010 1:03 am

      I HAD a collared shirt. Long gone. Now only have mesh and tank tops.

  3. Jim permalink
    February 23, 2010 12:24 am

    If I make it to one of your workshops you need to teach me to make all of my b/w shots tonally perfect. Awesome work :O

    • February 23, 2010 1:03 am

      Jim,

      come to a workshop and I’ll learn ya as much as I can.

  4. Don (Omaha) Otis permalink
    February 24, 2010 5:02 am

    Dan,
    I have been following your postings for this past year since our time in Santa Fe last year. You are a true inspiration, I love your work and commentary. Thanks for you willingness to share so much. I am off to Santa Fe in a few weeks to further my education, maybe I can catch up with one of your classes in the future.
    Best Wishes
    Don

    • February 24, 2010 5:39 pm

      Hey Don,

      Really glad you are headed back to keep learning, and also glad you are following Smogranch. I’m sure we will hook up again one of these days. Remember to take the lens cap off.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

