Skip to content

Looking for a Look

January 21, 2010

So I had this idea.

But I need to experiment to get it where it needs to be.

It’s about Orange County. Living here. Just something that dawned on me the other day.

So I went out and I began the great hunt, only I didn’t know what I was hunting for exactly.

So I go out, walk around, shoot, come home, process and then study what I have. Then I go back out, tweak what I’m doing and try it all over again.

I’m getting closer. I’m not there yet, but I’m feeling something. I’ll figure out where I’m going and then go there.

Here is the first image.

It involves a high speed film, a filter, a hot developer, constant agitation, a bit of flashing(not that kind!), and some luck…….

It’s not there yet, but I’ll get it eventually.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. David Wissinger permalink
    January 21, 2010 7:28 pm

    Fun idea. This looks like a good start to whatever the heck you’re doing.

    Technical Interlude: What film, what “hot” developer, why constant agitation? (My B+W processing gear is en route, so I’m intensely interested in these dorky details.)

    • January 22, 2010 6:16 pm

      Hey DW,

      This is shot with Tmax 3200 at 8000 ASA, and developed in hot HC-110 with constant agitation. Also used a four stop red filter on the lens. Agitation increases highlight contrast, as does the filter, pushing the film from 3200 to 8000 increases the grain,
      It’s not where I want to be, but I’m still searching. Will be back out later today.

  2. Eric Labastida permalink
    January 21, 2010 9:39 pm

    Are you pre-flashing your film ala Gene Nocon?

  3. Jim permalink
    January 22, 2010 10:01 pm

    Is HC-110 your developer of choice, or just for this project c]:o?

    • January 23, 2010 2:01 am

      Well, I’ve been using Xtol for years, but began my career with at least 10 years of D76. I’ve only recently begun to process my own film again, which I’m loving, but am still experimenting. I did buy some D76 yesterday, so I’ll be comparing with HC110. I like Rodinal as well. Thanks for asking. You?

  4. Jim permalink
    January 25, 2010 6:09 pm

    Hrm, well, my resume of film developers is no where near as impressive as yours. I graduated from college last year and took a darkroom photo class right after that. I had been shooting digital for a while so this was my first experience with film. My professor started us off with sprint developer which i did not like, it seemed to give ‘mushy’ results which combined with the lousy enlargers made really soft pictures. About half way through the semester I went to rodinal which I’ve been using since.

    Also, a bit off topic, do you have any domestic photo workshops planned this year?

    • January 25, 2010 6:24 pm

      Hey Jim,

      I think Rodinal is very good. I have a few friends who love it. I just bought some D76, just to compare it to HC 110. I used to use Xtol, but I read that it was primarily designed for Tmax films. I do use Tmax, but I think I’m going to settle on Tri-x as my main documentary film. I love the Tmax for portraits.
      Yes, I have TWO domestic workshops in the next few months.

      Pismo Beach: http://www.workshopswest.com/

      Santa Fe: It’s in June, called Beyond the Snapshot!

  5. February 2, 2010 10:30 pm

    Love the insight on the Haiti media invasion. Definitely got me thinking about why I shoot what I shoot. It seems like a lot of these big new stories are novelties to the main stream media. They have to be there covering it because everyone else is. Of all that is happening in the world why is the news seem all the same? Remember when OJ was in his white Bronco followed by the cops? I believe there was only 1 channel that didn’t have live coverage. Anyway, let’s hope that Haiti isn’t forgotten in the months to come.

    • February 2, 2010 10:58 pm

      Hey JK,

      I’m puzzled by much of what I see in the media. I look at many of these tv “journalists” who are in Haiti for ONE DAY, then hosting morning shows the following day, and wonder why they went in the first place. I really think, all of this, is based on one thing…entertainment. I know this is a cliche, about news being mostly entertainment, but I’m in total agreement. It’s like a show, not a news event.
      I wish I had an answer. A solution. I don’t.
      I for one and completely and totally overloaded by Haiti stories. I’m still trying to find information, but the deluge is actually making it MORE difficult.

      • February 2, 2010 11:16 pm

        Ah yes, entertainment. Well said.

      • February 3, 2010 7:20 pm

        It really is. When media outlets are writing about what their people on the ground are WEARING, the news business has left the building. I think the news cycle is so fast, and so broad, people will report on ANYTHING just to keep the pipe full.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

