Skip to content

Pole Position

September 3, 2009

So, this lovely image was sent to me by a friend I had not seen in probably ten years. We first met in Los Angeles when I was working for Kodak and she was new to the city and beginning her LA photo career, a career which is now in full swing. Very cool to see her doing so well.

IMG_0085

This picture is telling. A crowded house, a birthday moment, much joy to be had, and where am I….right by the food. A true photographer? Sure, I’m missing the key moment, but when that key moment is over, I’ll be in pole position when the dessert onslaught begins, and begin in did. The subsequent image shows me inhaling some type of cookie. No surprise there.

I think is a great image. Look at the depth, and the layering, and although we are all focused on the same thing, it looks like everyone is in their own world. A true moment. It APPEARS like a constructed narrative, or reality, but whats it so much BETTER is that it is REAL.

I get this film back today, the film I was shooting in this picture, I’ll be curious to see just how out of focus, blurry, it really is. I think I was shooting at f/2 and about 1/4 of a second. Fingers crossed.

Check out Isabella’s work here photobyisabella.com

Or here www.isabellavosmikova.com

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2009 8:45 am

    jeff dunas has so much hair.

    p.s. you really took the “black is the new black” comment seriously.

    • September 4, 2009 5:45 pm

      Jeff has unbelievable hair. I’d bet there are few women who would be jealous.

      As for me, it’s all blue baby. It does look black, heck most of the things I buy that are black kinda look blue, and vice versa, so when I hold it up to the light I ask, “Is that blue or black?” Normally I can’t even tell, but this night, I was rocking the all blue, except for my zapatos, which were black. And my glasses are orange so take that.

  2. 6by6press permalink
    September 4, 2009 4:01 pm

    man in black…

    • September 4, 2009 5:45 pm

      It’s blue. I promise. My shoes were black. The light, you know, digi, mixed light, cross your fingers.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

